The Albatross: August 3rd, 1766

(Note: The following is an extract taken from the accounts of that Pirate and seafaring blaccard known as The Albatross.)

August 3rd, 1766

“…as we were, and hunted like dogs. I ordered about, and for the Ruby-Susan be pointed Southward, to go on account t’ward the Bay of Biscay and to lay anchor awhile in Gigia. There be the port of El Musel, and safe haven to be had. I gave the order to strike the colours should we cross paths with lawmakers, but we were unmolested by that scurvy – not that we would have surrendered, you hear! I would no sooner have ordered the colours be shown, in truth, than I would point the end of a musket at my own heart and pull the hammer!

But we had no trouble until a storm blew onto us. I saw the shrouds torn to shreds, as if the winds had claws and the mainmast nigh snapped in two. Rain and thunder lashed the deck, and the gale had such ferocity I thought the sprogs would be run down the scuppers I did! In storms as that you see the water run green, churned up from the ancient belly of Poseidon. My first-mate observed a swordfish come from a wave that crashed abaft, in length as big as two grown men, and throw itself upon the decking thrashing and writhing in the wet. No man went near it, holding on for life to the ship for want of being washed away. Another roller struck the Ruby-Susan then, and took the beast back overboard, into the storm…”

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This passage reads like the adventure stories I used to read in grade school, eyes glued to every page, imagining creatures and scenes that we don’t see in the Canadian Prairies.

    It was with stories like this that my obsession with words and imagery began.

    Reply
  2. Thank you very much, I’m so glad you liked it. The idea was to try and evoke something of a time gone by. The next instalment will be much longer, hopefully. More like a real adventure story.

    Reply
  1. Dr. Hurley’s Digest, Week 25 « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure
  2. Dr. Hurley’s Digest Volume I: Fiction « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure

Leave a Reply

