Not-Sonnet

a sonnet you want to have written?
i’m scratching my head and i’ve bitten
my nails really low
and my mind is as slow
as a tired and homeless lil kitten.

i’m thinking about all those poets
(who’re more often than not today co-eds)
i torture my brain
it’s causing me pain
and suddenly – yes! – now i know it.

a sonnet is not what I’m writing
instead what i have will be biting
your dog in the tail:
it’s a lim’rick – oh hail!
and to me that is much more exciting!

by Wiebke Henning

* * * * *

This is part of a series of featured entries in our first-ever poetry contest.
Stay tuned for more and get ready to vote for your favorite!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dr. Hurley’s Digest, Week 34 « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure
  2. Dr. Hurley’s Digest Volume I: Contests « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure

Leave a Reply

