Impression № 033: Island Forming

Todd Michael Freeman on his inspiration:

“I work from stories collected from natural history, fables, and haunting memories from my boyhood library. I’ve always been fascinated with tales of strange animals and the paranormal in general, so the traditional, documentative aspects of printmaking just married perfectly with the subject matter. I rarely find myself doing specific research, my work is more a result of years of acquired grazing in a lot of different areas. I read a lot of nonfiction science and history books, but often an idea for a print will spark after reading a lone remarkable line. BBC science articles, antique engraving listings on Ebay, even bizarre passages from cryptozoology geocities sites all have contained perfect subject matter to work from. Some of my other prints are interpretations of broader, cross-cultural folklore themes, like old foes represented in ‘The Evil Animals‘ etching.”

* * * * *

Todd Freeman’s other contributions to Dr. Hurley’s Snake-Oil Cure can be found here.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dr. Hurley’s Digest, Week 35 « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure
  2. Dr. Hurley’s Digest Volume I: Impressions « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure

Leave a Reply

