100 Words: Bad Day

.

note gets slipped into my locker and I unfold it, thinking, “love letter.” The handwriting peaks like mountains and cuts in jagged daggers, plus the red ink, plus the note says, “I am going to kill you in geometry today.” I’m afraid of whoever wrote this note. I walk through the halls and faces turn black. My gym teacher stares at me and slits his throat with his thumb as I pass. The warning bell rings and the black faces scatter. What can I do? There’s nothing I can do. I go to geometry.

by Molly Laich

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Dick Ward

     /  June 13, 2011

    I think that’s going to have to be a phrase that gets worked into my vocabulary as some sort of inside reference that only I get. “There’s nothing I can do. I go to geometry.” I love those sentences :)

    Reply
  2. Adam K

     /  June 14, 2011

    I love short stories that create more questions than answers… this is a perfect example.

    Reply
  3. cheez

     /  June 21, 2011

    i never really always get you maybe molly….love dad

    Reply
  1. Dr. Hurley’s Digest, Week 15 « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure
  2. Dr. Hurley’s Digest, Week 19 « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure
  3. Dr. Hurley’s Digest Volume I: Contests « Dr. Hurley's Snake-Oil Cure

Leave a Reply

